This screen lists all the existing users for your site. Users with roles other than Administrator will see fewer options when they are logged in. Depending on your Role, you can also add new users as well as manage their Roles.
At the top of the screen there are links that allow you to filter the list of Users based on the User Roles. The number in brackets will advise how many there are for that particular type.
When hovering your cursor over each row in the list of Users, links will appear beneath the user name.
- Edit – Allows you to edit the user profile
- Delete – Allows the User to be deleted. This link won’t be available for your own profile
A User can have one of five defined roles as set by the site admin: Site Administrator, Editor, Author, Contributor, or Subscriber.
- Super Admin – (Only relevant when running multiple sites from one WordPress installation). Someone with access to the blog network administration features controlling the entire network
- Administrator – Somebody who has access to all the administration features
- Editor – Somebody who can publish and manage posts and pages as well as manage other users’ posts, etc.
- Author – Somebody who can publish and manage their own posts
- Contributor – Somebody who can write and manage their posts but not publish them
- Subscriber – Somebody who can only manage their profile
When WordPress is first installed, an Administrator account with all capabilities is automatically created.
The avatar that is displayed in the list of Users is using what’s called a Gravatar. A Gravatar is a Globally Recognized Avatar. Gravatars are currently used by a huge number of blogs, forums, chat sites and the like. Rather than having to upload an avatar on each and every system you sign up to, Gravatars allow you to have one avatar that is viewable everywhere. To create a Gravatar, simply go to gravatar.com and sign up. To use your Gravatar within WordPress, simply add an email address to your Profile that you’ve configured within the Gravatar site and it will automatically display.
Adding a New User
To add a new user, click on the Add New link in the left-hand navigation menu or the Add New button at the top of the page.
Once the above page is displayed, simply fill in the various fields and click the Add New User button.
- Username – (mandatory) Enter the username of the new user here. This will also be used as the Login name for the user. Once saved, the Username can’t be changed
- E-mail – (mandatory) Enter a valid email address of the new user here. The email address must be unique for each user. If a published Post or Page is authored by this user and approved comments are made to that post or page, a notification email is sent to this email address
- First Name – Enter the first name of the new user here
- Last Name – Enter the last name of the new user in this text box
- Website – You may enter the new user’s website URL in this text box
- Password – Clicking the Show password button will show you the password that has automatically been generated for the new user
- Send User Notification – When ticked, WordPress will send your new user an email about their account
- Role – Select the desired Role for this user from the dropdown list
WordPress will automatically generate a strong password when you create a new user. Clicking the Show password button will display the password that was generated and if you want, will also allow you to change it. The password strength indicator, shown just below the password field, must indicate at least Medium before WordPress will allow you to save the new user. It goes without saying, the stronger the password the more secure the login so it’s advisable that the strength indicator shows your password as being Strong. To make a password stronger, use upper and lower case letters, numbers and symbols like ! ” ? $ % ^ & ).
Deleting a User
To delete a user, click on the Delete link that appears beneath the user name when hovering your cursor over each row. The Delete link wont appear for the user that is currently logged in.
Along with deleting the user you will be given the choice of what to do with all the content currently assigned to that User. The available choices are:
- Delete all content – This will delete all the content which this user created
- Attribute all content to – This will assign all the content currently linked to this User, to another User of your choosing. Simply select the User from the dropdown list
After making your selection, click the Confirm Deletion button to remove the User.
Editing your Profile
To edit your profile details, simply click on your user name, when viewing the list of Users or click on the Edit link that appears beneath your user name when hovering your cursor over each row. Alternatively, click on the Your Profile link in the left-hand navigation.
If you’re an Administrator and would like to edit someone else’s profile, click on their user name when viewing the list of Users or click on the Edit link that appears beneath their user name when hovering your cursor over each row.
Update the appropriate fields and then click the Update Profile button to save all your changes.
Personal Options
- Visual Editor – Checking this box disables the Visual Editor when writing and uses the plain html editor
- Syntax Highlighting – Checking this box disables the syntax highlighting when editing code in the built-in editor
- Admin Color Scheme – Check this radio button next to the colour scheme desired for the administrative panels. You have the choice of eight different color schemes
- Keyboard Shortcuts – Checking this box Enables keyboard shortcuts for comment moderation. Keyboard shortcuts are designed to allow you to rapidly navigate and perform actions on comments
- Toolar – Checking this box will display the Admin Bar at the very top of your website (only for the person who is currently logged in)
Name
- Username – You cannot edit your Username because it is used as your Username during the login process. Even an Administrator cannot change your Username. Usually, no one else ever needs to see your Username
- First name – Enter your first name in this text box
- Last name – Enter your last name in this text box
- Nickname – (mandatory) The nickname is a requirement for every user. It may be the same as your Username or it can be different. If you don’t supply a Nickname, then the Username will be placed in this field
- Display name publicly as – Select how your name is cited on your blog, from the dropdown list. You can choose from several choices: Nickname, Username, First Name, Last Name, ‘First Last’, or ‘Last First’. If you prefer ‘Last First’, insert a comma after your last name in the Last Name text field and choose the last option from the dropdown list. For security reasons, it’s a good idea to keep this different from your Username
Contact Info
- E-mail – (mandatory) All users are required to list an email address in their respective Profiles. The email address must be unique for each user. Your blog will use this address to notify you of new comments to your posts and for other administrative purposes. Only other registered users of your blog will have access to this email address. It is never sent anywhere
- Website – Enter your website address
About Yourself
- Biographical Info – Enter a short description or profile of yourself here. Depending on your theme, this optional information may be displayed when creating new Posts
- Profile Picture – The avatar that is displayed is called a Gravatar. A Gravatar is a Globally Recognized Avatar. To create a Gravatar, simply go to gravatar.com and sign up. To use your Gravatar within WordPress, simply add an email address to your Profile that you’ve configured within the Gravatar site and it will automatically display
Account Management
- New Password – Click the Generate Password button to generate a new Strong password. A password strength indicator will be shown just below the password field
- Sessions – If you’ve left your account logged in at a public computer or you’ve lost your phone, you can click the Log Out Everywhere Elsebutton to log you out of everywhere except for your current browser